Skip to content

Comparison

actionlake vs Zapier MCP

Zapier MCP alternative for AI agents

Zapier MCP connects Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP clients to Zapier's library of 9,000+ apps, and each successful tool call uses two tasks from the Zapier plan. actionlake is an MCP gateway with 995 vendor connectors, billed per upstream call, that adds spending caps per agent key, human approval before writes and one-call answers across two systems.

Checked 22 October 2026 · every fact links its source

Which to choose

It depends on the job.

Zapier MCP is part of every Zapier plan. A Zapier MCP server holds the apps and actions an AI client may use; in agentic mode the AI adds the actions it needs during the conversation, and in managed mode you pick a fixed set. It runs through the same app connections as your Zaps.

Choose Zapier MCP if

  • You already run Zapier and want your AI client to use the same connections and task pool.
  • The app you need is in Zapier's library of 9,000+ apps and not among actionlake's connectors.
  • You want event triggers: Zaps start when something happens in an app, and actionlake has no triggers.
  • You need a vendor that holds SOC 2 Type II today.

Choose actionlake if

  • You want a hard spending cap per agent key, refused before the request is sent.
  • You want a person to approve writes or destructive actions before they run.
  • You ask questions that span two systems, such as overdue invoices against open tickets, and want the answer instead of the rows.
  • You run high volume: actionlake bills each upstream request once, and searches, checks and cached answers not at all, where Zapier draws two tasks per successful tool call.

Credit where due

Where Zapier MCP is stronger

  • Breadth. Zapier lists 9,000+ apps; actionlake has 995 vendor connectors.
  • Triggers. Zapier starts work when an event happens in an app. actionlake does not, by design.
  • Certification. Zapier states SOC 2 Type II; actionlake holds no certification yet.
  • Familiarity. Teams that use Zapier keep their connections, workspace controls and billing.

The difference

Where actionlake differs

  • Billing unit: Zapier draws two tasks per successful MCP tool call; actionlake bills one upstream call, and searching, checking and cached answers are free.
  • Limits: actionlake caps spend per key and can hold a write for a person's approval. The Zapier pages we read describe app and action access controls and history, not per-agent caps or approvals.
  • Joins: actionlake's ask tool joins two systems on a shared entity in one call. With Zapier MCP the agent chains actions or writes a Code Action.

Feature by feature

15 things we compared.

Each Zapier MCP cell links the page we read it on. Checked 22 October 2026.

FeatureactionlakeZapier MCP
Hosted MCP serverYesOne endpoint, https://connect.actionlake.com/mcp, over Streamable HTTP; a REST API with the same behavior.YesHosted by Zapier. Streamable HTTP; Server-Sent Events are not supported.Source: docs.zapier.com/mcp/home
How a client signs inYesOAuth 2.1 with dynamic client registration and PKCE, or an actionlake key. The agent holds an actionlake key, never a vendor token.YesMost clients sign in with OAuth. Credentials stay in Zapier's connection layer, not in the model.Source: docs.zapier.com/mcp/home
Apps and actionsYes995 vendor connectors and 289,000+ actions behind eight tools. An agent can draft, test and sign a connector for an API that is missing.Yes9,000+ apps. Zapier's MCP page gives 30,000+ actions, and 66,000+ triggers and actions.Source: zapier.com/mcp
What is billedYesOne upstream call: a request actionlake sent to a vendor that returned a definitive response. Searching, checking, planning, cached answers and failures you did not cause (a vendor's 401, 403, 429, 5xx or a timeout) are free.YesEach successful tool call uses two tasks from the plan's task pool; failed calls do not count.Source: zapier.com/pricing
Free allowanceYes100,000 upstream calls a month, no card.YesFree plan: 100 tasks a month, which is 50 MCP tool calls.Source: zapier.com/pricing
Limit which actions an agent can useYesPer key: by action, by service, by verb, or read-only. A key can mint narrower keys, never wider ones.YesChoose which apps and actions the agent can use; the MCP page lists app- and action-level access controls under its enterprise section.Source: zapier.com/mcp
Spending cap per agent keyYesA cap in upstream calls per key. A child key's calls count against each parent. Refused before the request is sent.Not statedThe account has a task quota; with pay-per-task on, usage halts at 3 times the subscription. No per-server or per-agent cap was described.Source: zapier.com/pricing
A person approves a write before it runsYesDestructive actions need an explicit confirmation, and under the key's `human` policy the agent cannot give it, so a person approves. Approval rules make chosen actions, or every write, wait for a named person, who decides in the console or from an emailed signed link.Not statedNot described on the MCP pages read.Source: zapier.com/mcp
Record of each callYesOne ledger row per run, hash-chained and sealed daily, with the agent's stated reason (kept 90 days). Request and response traces are kept for the plan's window.YesHistory for each MCP action. Audit log on Team (6 months) and Enterprise (1 year).Source: zapier.com/pricing
Scan call data for sensitive contentNoSecrets are removed from traces. Call data is not scanned or redacted for personal data.Not statedNot described on the pages read.Source: zapier.com/mcp
One question across two systemsYesThe ask tool fetches from two or more systems, joins on a shared entity such as the customer, and returns the answer, not the rows.PartlyThe agent chains actions, or writes and runs a Code Action. No join step was described.Source: zapier.com/mcp
Event triggers and webhooksNoBy design. Agents and schedules start the work; a scheduled plan can ask what changed since the last run.YesZaps start on app triggers. Building Zaps from an AI client is in early access.Source: zapier.com/mcp
Self-hostNoHosted service only: actionlake runs in one region in Sydney, Australia, and no self-hosted edition is offered.NoHosted service; no self-hosted edition on the pages read.Source: zapier.com/pricing
Security certificationsNoNone held yet. SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and a third-party penetration test are in progress.YesSOC 2 Type II, as stated by Zapier.Source: zapier.com/mcp
Where data is processedYesOne region: Sydney, Australia (DigitalOcean syd1). Stored in Australia at rest; TLS terminates at Cloudflare's edge.Not statedNot stated on the pages read.Source: zapier.com/mcp

"Not stated" means the vendor pages we read did not describe the feature. It is not a claim that the feature is missing. Checked 22 October 2026.

Pricing

What 100,000 and 1,000,000 calls a month cost.

Zapier MCP's unit: MCP tool call = 2 Zapier tasks. Plan used: Professional, annual billing. actionlake's figure is the cheapest plan that fits the volume, from the published price book; one upstream call counts as one action.

Calls a monthactionlakeZapier MCP
100,000US$0 a monthUS$0.00 per 1,000 callsFree: US$0 a month, 100,000 calls included.US$769 a monthUS$7.69 per 1,000 calls200,000 tasks: the Professional 200,000-task step, $769 a month billed annually.Source: zapier.com/pricing, read 22 October 2026
1,000,000US$219 a monthUS$0.22 per 1,000 callsPro: US$149 a month for 750,000 calls, plus 250,000 calls at US$0.28 per 1,000.US$3,389 a monthUS$3.39 per 1,000 calls2,000,000 tasks: the Professional 2,000,000-task step, $3,389 a month billed annually.Source: zapier.com/pricing, read 22 October 2026

Caveats

  • Both steps were read on zapier.com/pricing on 22 October 2026: 200,000 tasks at $769 and 2,000,000 tasks at $3,389 a month, billed annually. Self-serve steps end at 2,000,000 tasks.
  • Monthly billing costs about 1.5 times the annual figure. Pay-per-task overage is 1.25 times the plan rate on annual billing.
  • A task counts only a successful call; actionlake does not bill a vendor's 401, 403, 429, 5xx or a timeout either.

How we priced it

  • List prices on the vendor's own pricing page on the date shown, annual billing where the vendor offers it.
  • The smallest plan or ladder step that covers the volume, plus published overage where that is cheaper.
  • Each vendor bills a different unit. The unit is named on every row, and the conversion to one action or one tool call is stated.
  • Where no public price covers the volume, the cell says so. Nothing is estimated from a sales quote.

actionlake's figures are the USD list. Searching the catalogue, checking a call, planning, cached answers and failed calls are not billed. See every plan on the pricing page.

Moving over

Migration notes

  1. Keep the Zaps that start on triggers; actionlake has no triggers. Move the agent's tool calls.
  2. Add actionlake beside Zapier MCP in the same client; both servers can be connected while you move.
  3. Connect the same apps in actionlake. For an OAuth app, register your own app with the vendor, sign in once as an admin and store the tokens; key-based apps the agent can connect itself.
  4. Give each agent its own key with the actions it needs, a monthly cap, and approval for writes.
  5. Turn reused Zapier MCP skills into saved plans, and run recurring ones on a schedule.

Questions

Asked about Zapier MCP and actionlake

How is Zapier MCP billed?

Each successful Zapier MCP tool call uses two tasks from your Zapier plan's task pool; failed calls do not count. The free plan's 100 tasks a month cover 50 tool calls (zapier.com/pricing, checked 22 October 2026).

Does actionlake have as many apps as Zapier?

No. Zapier lists 9,000+ apps; actionlake has 995 vendor connectors with 289,000+ actions. An agent can draft and test a connector for a missing API from its documentation.

Can I use Zapier MCP and actionlake together?

Yes. An MCP client can connect to both servers, so you can keep Zapier for triggers and for apps actionlake does not cover.

What does actionlake add for governance?

A spending cap per agent key, refused before the request is sent; human approval for writes; scoping by action, service or verb; and a hash-chained record of each run with the agent's reason.

Sources

We wrote these pages, so read them with that in mind. Each competitor is stronger somewhere, and each page says where. If a fact here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.

All comparisons

Give your agent every system, with limits.

Start free - 100,000 calls/month, no card. No signup. Hard caps on every key. Cached answers are free.