Skip to content

Comparison

actionlake vs Pipedream

Pipedream alternative for AI agents

Pipedream Connect gives developers managed auth, 10,000+ prebuilt tools across 3,000+ APIs, and a remote MCP server, billed in credits of 30 seconds of compute plus a fee per external user. actionlake is an MCP gateway with 995 vendor connectors, billed per upstream call, with spending caps per agent key, human approval before writes and one-call answers across two systems.

Checked 22 October 2026 · every fact links its source

Which to choose

It depends on the job.

Pipedream Connect is integration infrastructure for developers who add connectors to their own agents and apps. Pipedream hosts the OAuth flow, stores and refreshes each end user's tokens, and serves each app as an MCP server at remote.mcp.pipedream.net, alongside SDKs, a proxy for any endpoint, and triggers.

Choose Pipedream if

  • You are building a product and each of your end users connects their own accounts.
  • You need one of Pipedream's 3,000+ APIs that actionlake does not cover, or a raw proxy to any endpoint with managed credentials.
  • You want event triggers that send webhooks to your app.
  • You need SOC 2 Type 2 or HIPAA from the vendor today.

Choose actionlake if

  • Your agent works for your own business, across your own systems, under limits you set per key.
  • You want a person to approve writes before they run, and a spending cap refused before dispatch.
  • You ask one question across two systems and want the joined answer in one call.
  • You want a price per call that falls at volume: Pipedream's published overage is $0.012 per credit.

Credit where due

Where Pipedream is stronger

  • Breadth: 3,000+ APIs and 10,000+ prebuilt tools, plus a proxy for endpoints with no prebuilt tool.
  • Built for products with many end users: per-user credentials, hosted connect flows, bring-your-own OAuth clients.
  • Triggers that stream events to your app; actionlake has none, by design.
  • Certification: Pipedream shows SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR and HIPAA; actionlake holds no certification yet.

The difference

Where actionlake differs

  • Pipedream serves one MCP server per app; actionlake serves one endpoint with eight tools over 995 vendor connectors, and the agent searches for the action it needs.
  • Pipedream's free plan is for development; actionlake's free plan runs in production up to 100,000 calls a month.
  • actionlake adds per-key spending caps, approvals and a hash-chained record of each run; the Pipedream pages we read did not describe these.

Feature by feature

15 things we compared.

Each Pipedream cell links the page we read it on. Checked 22 October 2026.

FeatureactionlakePipedream
Hosted MCP serverYesOne endpoint, https://connect.actionlake.com/mcp, over Streamable HTTP; a REST API with the same behavior.Yeshttps://remote.mcp.pipedream.net/v3, Server-Sent Events and Streamable HTTP. One MCP server per app.Source: pipedream.com/docs/connect/mcp/developers
How a client signs inYesOAuth 2.1 with dynamic client registration and PKCE, or an actionlake key. The agent holds an actionlake key, never a vendor token.YesDevelopers use an OAuth client-credentials token plus project, environment, external user and app headers. End users connect accounts through Connect Link.Source: pipedream.com/docs/connect/mcp/developers
Apps and actionsYes995 vendor connectors and 289,000+ actions behind eight tools. An agent can draft, test and sign a connector for an API that is missing.Yes3,000+ APIs and 10,000+ prebuilt tools and triggers, plus a proxy for any endpoint.Source: pipedream.com/connect
What is billedYesOne upstream call: a request actionlake sent to a vendor that returned a definitive response. Searching, checking, planning, cached answers and failures you did not cause (a vendor's 401, 403, 429, 5xx or a timeout) are free.YesCredits: an action run, MCP tool call or proxy request uses 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute. $2 per external user above 100 on Startup.Source: pipedream.com/pricing
Free allowanceYes100,000 upstream calls a month, no card.PartlyFree for development; production requires Startup.Source: pipedream.com/pricing
Limit which actions an agent can useYesPer key: by action, by service, by verb, or read-only. A key can mint narrower keys, never wider ones.PartlyEach user's credentials are isolated; each MCP server is one app. No per-agent action allow-list was described.Source: pipedream.com/docs/connect/mcp
Spending cap per agent keyYesA cap in upstream calls per key. A child key's calls count against each parent. Refused before the request is sent.Not statedNot described on the pages read.Source: pipedream.com/pricing
A person approves a write before it runsYesDestructive actions need an explicit confirmation, and under the key's `human` policy the agent cannot give it, so a person approves. Approval rules make chosen actions, or every write, wait for a named person, who decides in the console or from an emailed signed link.Not statedNot described on the pages read.Source: pipedream.com/docs/connect/mcp
Record of each callYesOne ledger row per run, hash-chained and sealed daily, with the agent's stated reason (kept 90 days). Request and response traces are kept for the plan's window.Not statedAudit logs are not mentioned on the pricing page.Source: pipedream.com/pricing
Scan call data for sensitive contentNoSecrets are removed from traces. Call data is not scanned or redacted for personal data.Not statedNot described on the pages read.Source: pipedream.com/connect
One question across two systemsYesThe ask tool fetches from two or more systems, joins on a shared entity such as the customer, and returns the answer, not the rows.PartlyYour own code can combine calls through the SDK or proxy. No join tool was described for MCP.Source: pipedream.com/connect
Event triggers and webhooksNoBy design. Agents and schedules start the work; a scheduled plan can ask what changed since the last run.YesTriggers that send events to your app by webhook.Source: pipedream.com/connect
Self-hostNoHosted service only: actionlake runs in one region in Sydney, Australia, and no self-hosted edition is offered.PartlyThe docs mention a self-hosted MCP server but give no instructions on the page read.Source: pipedream.com/docs/connect/mcp/developers
Security certificationsNoNone held yet. SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and a third-party penetration test are in progress.YesSOC 2 Type 2 and GDPR on every plan; HIPAA, SSO and static egress IPs on Business.Source: pipedream.com/pricing
Where data is processedYesOne region: Sydney, Australia (DigitalOcean syd1). Stored in Australia at rest; TLS terminates at Cloudflare's edge.Not statedNot stated on the pages read.Source: pipedream.com/connect

"Not stated" means the vendor pages we read did not describe the feature. It is not a claim that the feature is missing. Checked 22 October 2026.

Pricing

What 100,000 and 1,000,000 calls a month cost.

Pipedream's unit: 1 credit = 30 seconds of compute; one API call fits in one credit. Plan used: Startup, $99 a month billed annually, 10,000 credits included. actionlake's figure is the cheapest plan that fits the volume, from the published price book; one upstream call counts as one action.

Calls a monthactionlakePipedream
100,000US$0 a monthUS$0.00 per 1,000 callsFree: US$0 a month, 100,000 calls included.US$1,179 a monthUS$11.79 per 1,000 calls$99 + 90,000 credits at $0.012.Source: pipedream.com/pricing, read 22 October 2026
1,000,000US$219 a monthUS$0.22 per 1,000 callsPro: US$149 a month for 750,000 calls, plus 250,000 calls at US$0.28 per 1,000.US$11,979 a monthUS$11.98 per 1,000 calls$99 + 990,000 credits at $0.012.Source: pipedream.com/pricing, read 22 October 2026

Caveats

  • Pipedream says the credit rate drops at higher volume; the lower rates are not published. Business is custom pricing on an annual contract.
  • External users above 100 cost $2 each a month on Startup; not included above.
  • Listing apps and accounts and other management calls use no credits, as actionlake's searches and checks are free.

How we priced it

  • List prices on the vendor's own pricing page on the date shown, annual billing where the vendor offers it.
  • The smallest plan or ladder step that covers the volume, plus published overage where that is cheaper.
  • Each vendor bills a different unit. The unit is named on every row, and the conversion to one action or one tool call is stated.
  • Where no public price covers the volume, the cell says so. Nothing is estimated from a sales quote.

actionlake's figures are the USD list. Searching the catalogue, checking a call, planning, cached answers and failed calls are not billed. See every plan on the pricing page.

Moving over

Migration notes

  1. If your product's end users each connect their own accounts, Pipedream Connect is built for that; actionlake connections belong to one tenant.
  2. For an agent that works across your own business systems, connect each system to actionlake once and give the agent a scoped key.
  3. Map each Pipedream tool to an actionlake action with find_actions; canonical names such as service.ticket.create work across connectors.
  4. Keep Pipedream triggers where an event must start the work; move recurring checks to actionlake schedules.

Questions

Asked about Pipedream and actionlake

How is Pipedream MCP billed?

MCP tool calls use Pipedream credits: 1 credit per 30 seconds of compute. Startup includes 10,000 credits for $99 a month billed annually, then $0.012 per credit, plus $2 per external user above 100 (pipedream.com/pricing, checked 22 October 2026).

Is Pipedream's free plan usable in production?

No. Pipedream's free plan is for development; production requires Startup. actionlake's free plan includes 100,000 calls a month in production, no card.

Does actionlake cover as many APIs as Pipedream?

No. Pipedream lists 3,000+ APIs; actionlake has 995 vendor connectors with 289,000+ actions, and an agent can draft and test a connector for a missing API.

Which suits a SaaS product with many end users?

Pipedream Connect is designed for per-user accounts inside your product. actionlake is designed for agents acting across one organization's systems under per-key limits.

Sources

We wrote these pages, so read them with that in mind. Each competitor is stronger somewhere, and each page says where. If a fact here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.

All comparisons

Give your agent every system, with limits.

Start free - 100,000 calls/month, no card. No signup. Hard caps on every key. Cached answers are free.