---
title: "MCP gateway comparisons: actionlake vs the alternatives"
description: "Dated, sourced comparisons of actionlake with Zapier MCP, Pipedream, Merge Agent Handler, Arcade, n8n and building your own MCP servers, pricing included."
canonical: https://actionlake.com/compare
updated: 2026-10-22
---

Comparisons

# actionlake compared

MCP gateway alternatives for AI agents, side by side

actionlake is an MCP gateway that connects AI agents to 995 vendor connectors through one endpoint, with spending caps per key, human approvals and a record of each call. These pages compare it with other ways to give an agent tools. Each fact links to the vendor's own page and carries the date we read it.

Checked 22 October 2026

[Start free](https://actionlake.com/console?start=sandbox) [See pricing](https://actionlake.com/pricing)

Overview

## Six alternatives, one table.

The rows each comparison page goes into in detail, with a source for every cell. Prices are monthly at 1,000,000 calls, list price on annual billing.

| Option | Hosted MCP server | Apps and actions | What is billed | Spending cap per agent key | A person approves a write before it runs | One question across two systems | Self-host | At 1,000,000 calls |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| actionlake | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | **US$219** |
| [Zapier MCP](https://actionlake.com/compare/zapier-mcp) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | No | US$3,389 |
| [Pipedream](https://actionlake.com/compare/pipedream) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Partly | Partly | US$11,979 |
| [Merge Agent Handler](https://actionlake.com/compare/merge-agent-handler) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not published |
| [Arcade](https://actionlake.com/compare/arcade) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | US$10,025 |
| [n8n](https://actionlake.com/compare/n8n) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | €4,667 |
| [Self-built MCP](https://actionlake.com/compare/build-your-own-mcp-servers) | Partly | Partly | Yes | Partly | Partly | Partly | Yes | not published |

"Not stated" means the vendor pages we read did not describe the feature. It is not a claim that the feature is missing. Checked 22 October 2026. n8n prices are in euros. Each comparison page names the unit each vendor bills and links the page each figure came from.

The comparisons

## Pick the one you are weighing.

- ### [actionlake vs Zapier MCP](https://actionlake.com/compare/zapier-mcp)
  Zapier MCP alternative for AI agents
  Zapier MCP connects Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP clients to Zapier's library of 9,000+ apps, and each successful tool call uses two tasks from the Zapier plan. actionlake is an MCP gateway with 995 vendor connectors, billed per upstream call, that adds spending caps per agent key, human approval before writes and one-call answers across two systems.
- ### [actionlake vs Pipedream](https://actionlake.com/compare/pipedream)
  Pipedream alternative for AI agents
  Pipedream Connect gives developers managed auth, 10,000+ prebuilt tools across 3,000+ APIs, and a remote MCP server, billed in credits of 30 seconds of compute plus a fee per external user. actionlake is an MCP gateway with 995 vendor connectors, billed per upstream call, with spending caps per agent key, human approval before writes and one-call answers across two systems.
- ### [actionlake vs Merge Agent Handler](https://actionlake.com/compare/merge-agent-handler)
  Merge Agent Handler alternative for AI agents
  Merge Agent Handler connects AI agents to 190+ MCP-ready connectors through scoped Tool Packs, scans every tool call with data-loss rules, and bills in credits spent per tool call, with Pro at $1,000 a month for 25,000 credits. actionlake is an MCP gateway with 995 vendor connectors, billed per upstream call, with spending caps per agent key, human approval before writes and one-call answers across two systems.
- ### [actionlake vs Arcade](https://actionlake.com/compare/arcade)
  Arcade alternative for AI agents
  Arcade is an MCP runtime that lets agents act as the signed-in user across 8,000+ permission-aware tools, served through MCP gateways and billed at $0.01 per tool call plus $0.10 per auth event on its Team plan. actionlake is an MCP gateway with 995 vendor connectors, billed per upstream call, with spending caps per agent key, human approval before writes and one-call answers across two systems.
- ### [actionlake vs n8n](https://actionlake.com/compare/n8n)
  n8n alternative for AI agents
  n8n is a workflow automation platform with 2,000+ integrations that you can self-host; its instance-level MCP server lets an AI client run the workflows you have built and exposed. actionlake is an MCP gateway an agent calls directly: 995 vendor connectors and 289,000+ actions with no workflow to build, billed per upstream call, with per-key caps, approvals and one-call answers across two systems.
- ### [Build your own MCP servers, or use actionlake](https://actionlake.com/compare/build-your-own-mcp-servers)
  An alternative to self-built MCP for AI agents
  Building your own MCP servers with the official SDKs gives you full control and no per-call fee, but each server must implement the MCP authorization spec and you build caps, approvals and audit yourself. actionlake is an MCP gateway with 995 vendor connectors that already has those controls, billed per upstream call with 100,000 calls a month free.

We wrote these pages, so read them with that in mind. Each competitor is stronger somewhere, and each page says where. If a fact here is out of date, tell us at hello@actionlake.com and we will correct it.

## Give your agent every system, with limits.

[Start free - 100,000 calls a month, no card](https://actionlake.com/console?start=sandbox) [See pricing](https://actionlake.com/pricing)

Start free - 100,000 calls/month, no card. No signup. Hard caps on every key. Cached answers are free.

---

Source: https://actionlake.com/compare
More: https://actionlake.com/llms.txt
